Louisiana CPA Requirements

 

 

Louisiana CPA Requirements

To obtain CPA licensure, you must meet the three Es: Education, Experience, and Exam. Please note there are different accounting and business education requirements for examination and licensure in Louisiana. See the sections below for these requirements.

 

 

Education Requirements for CPA Examination

  • Degree: Baccalaureate degree from an accredited university.
  • Accounting Coursework: 24 semester hours (or 21 semester hours at the graduate level) beyond introductory courses to include 6 semester hours in intermediate accounting, 3 semester hours in cost accounting, 3 hours in income tax, and 3 hours in auditing. At least 3 semester hours with a maximum of 9 semester hours in advanced financial accounting, not for profit/governmental accounting, or auditing theory.
  • Business Coursework: 24 semester hours in business subjects to include 3 semester hours of business law exclusively covering Uniform Commercial Code (UCC) and forms of commercial transactions.
  • Total Credit Hours: 120 semester hours
  • Additional Exam Information
    • Prior to Sitting for the Uniform CPA Exam: Must have completed the degree requirement in addition to the accounting and business course requirements.
    • Application Documents: Application documents found on board website (opens new window).

 

 

Education Requirements for CPA Licensure

The Bachelor of Science in Accounting (BSAC) program alone does not meet the education requirements to be licensed in Louisiana. The combination of the BSAC and the Master of Accounting (MAcc) program meets the education requirements for CPA examination and licensure.  In addition to the requirements listed above, students must complete the following to be licensed.

  • Ethics Coursework: Not required
  • Total Credit Hours: 150 semester hours
  • Experience Requirements for Licensure
    • Minimum Work Experience: At least one-year of full-time accounting experience.

 

Additional information can be found on the State Board of CPAs of Louisiana (opens new window) website.

 

Note: Completing a WGU degree program does not guarantee employment or licensure in any profession. Requirements for licensure in accounting vary from state to state. For example, some states require a background check that may disqualify you from obtaining a license if you have committed certain actions, crimes, or misdemeanors. Students should contact WGU Business Licensure at licensure@wgu.edu prior to contacting their State Board of Accountancy regarding education and experience requirements. The Licensure team is available to students and alumni for all accounting licensure questions and advisement.  Although the Licensure team can provide initial guidance, it is ultimately the student’s responsibility to continually check with the state licensing board where you intend to seek licensure to confirm all licensing requirements.

 

2/2019

Version history
Revision #:
9 of 9
Last update:
‎10-25-2019 04:55 PM
Updated by:
 
Labels (1)