Pennsylvania CPA Requirements

To obtain CPA licensure, you must meet the three Es: Education, Experience, and Exam. Please note there are different accounting and business education requirements for examination and licensure in Pennsylvania. See the charts below for these requirements.

 

Education Requirements for CPA Examination

Degree

Baccalaureate or higher degree from a regionally accredited university or a college approved by the board. 

Accounting Coursework

24 semester hours in accounting courses to include coverage of auditing, business law, finance, or tax subjects of a content satisfactory to the board.

Business Coursework

Not required

Total Credit Hours

120 semester hours

 

Additional Exam Information

Prior to Sitting for the Uniform CPA Exam

Complete all education requirements for examination.

Application Documents

Application documents found on the board website.

 

The Bachelor of Science in Accounting (BSAC) program alone does not meet the education requirements to be licensed in Pennsylvania. The combination of the BSAC and the Master of Accounting (MAcc) program meets the education requirements for CPA examination and licensure.  In addition to the requirements listed above, students must complete the following to be licensed.

 

Education Requirements for CPA Licensure

Accounting Coursework

36 semester hours in accounting courses to include at least 12 semester hours of accounting, auditing or tax subjects of a content satisfactory to the board.

Business Coursework

Not required

Ethics Coursework

Not required

Total Credit Hours

150 semester hours

 

Experience Requirements for Licensure

Minimum Work Experience

At least 1,600 hours of qualifying experience over a period of not less than 12 months.

 

Additional information can be found on the Pennsylvania State Board of Accountancy website.

 

Note: Completing a WGU degree program does not guarantee employment or licensure in any profession. Requirements for licensure in accounting vary from state to state. For example, some states require a background check that may disqualify you from obtaining a license if you have committed certain actions, crimes, or misdemeanors. Students should contact WGU Business Licensure at licensure@wgu.edu prior to contacting their State Board of Accountancy regarding education and experience requirements. The Licensure team is available to students and alumni for all accounting licensure questions and advisement.  Although the Licensure team can provide initial guidance, it is ultimately the student’s responsibility to continually check with the state licensing board where you intend to seek licensure to confirm all licensing requirements.

 

2/2019

Version history
Revision #:
10 of 10
Last update:
‎02-26-2019 10:27 AM
Updated by:
 
Labels (1)