To obtain CPA licensure, you must meet the three Es: Education, Experience, and Exam. Please note there are different accounting and business education requirements for examination and licensure in Vermont. See the charts below for these requirements.
Education Requirements for CPA Examination
Baccalaureate or higher degree from a regionally accredited university.
42 semester hours in accounting and business subjects to include: 6 semester hours of financial and/or managerial accounting beyond the introductory level; 3 semester hours in auditing; 3 semester hours in U.S. taxation; and 3 semester hours in U.S. business law.
See accounting requirement above.
Total Credit Hours
120 semester hours
Additional Exam Information
Prior to Sitting for the Uniform CPA Exam
Complete the education requirements including at least 120 semester hours.
The Bachelor of Science in Accounting (BSAC) program alone does not meet the education requirements to be licensed in Vermont. The combination of the BSAC and the Master of Accounting (MAcc) program meets the education requirements for CPA examination and licensure.In addition to the requirements listed above, students must complete the following to be licensed.
Education Requirements for CPA Licensure
Must pass the AICPA Professional Ethics Exam for initial licensure.
Total Credit Hours
150 semester hours
Experience Requirements for Licensure
Minimum Work Experience
One-year of experience to include 500 hours of attest, of which no less than 200 hours must be related to the audit function.
Note: Students should contact WGU Business Licensure at email@example.com prior to contacting their State Board of Accountancy regarding education and experience requirements. The Licensure team is available to students and alumni for all accounting licensure questions and advisement.