Demonstration teaching (DT) is a full-time, intensive, in-class experience that lasts for a minimum of 12 to 20 consecutive weeks but may be longer, depending on state requirements and/or your program requirements.
At the time WGU calculates the weeks for the assigned placement, partial weeks (fewer than three full days; full days are minimum 7 hours) and more than three pre-service days will not count toward the required number of weeks. Placements will preferably start on a Monday and end on a Friday, but may be adjusted due to district/school calendars or state required hours.
Note: if you miss more than 3 days (consecutive or not) at any time for any reason during DT, you will be extended for a full week per our DT Absentee or Work Stoppage Policy.
Your placement must be at the appropriate level in an accredited U.S. school that meets WGU and state licensure requirements. Different states and different WGU programs have specific placement requirements. Placements must be in a traditional, on ground setting (residential treatment facilities, prisons, home schools, or virtual placements do not meet this requirement).
International placements are not allowed with the exception of US Department of Defense (DOD) schools.
Teacher candidates must complete their DT assignment in an English speaking classroom. Central to this issue are two main points:
1) WGU is committed to nondiscrimination and diversity.
2) Clinical supervisors, cohort seminar facilitators and course evaluators need to be able to communicate and evaluate in a common language.
If you have any questions or concerns regarding this policy, you are welcome to submit an inquiry to email@example.com.
You must be in your classroom full-time, all day during the work week (as defined by the district’s or school’s full-time contractual hours for teachers). An acceptable classroom size to be accepted for a demonstration teaching placement must consist of at least 7-10 students.
WGU is committed to providing a safe environment for students, faculty, and staff. WGU will only approve potential preclinical or demonstration teaching sites that are expected to fully comply with all relevant ordinances and laws related to safety and health and will not knowingly place a teacher candidate at a site that is out of compliance with such ordinances or laws. If there are questions related to your approved site, please contact firstname.lastname@example.org.
Teacher candidates must be assigned to a placement where they are the sole teacher candidate in the classroom.
Note: WGU does not allow field placements to be waived or shortened regardless of a teacher candidate’s previous experience.
The length of Demonstration Teaching is typically 12 weeks long, but is sometimes longer depending on state and district requirements. State exceptions are listed below:
Note: Keep in mind that in any state, if the district in which you are placed for student teaching requires a longer placement, then your demonstration teaching will be lengthened accordingly.
Currently, a number of school districts in California and New York require a 16-week or semester-long placement.
If you plan on completing DT in one state, but licensing in another state, your DT placement must coincide with whichever DT placement requirement is longer.
Note: Additional circumstances may also add to the length of your DT experience including, but not limited to:
Early Childhood: Early childhood placements are a minimum of 12 weeks long, with 6 weeks in a prekindergarten or kindergarten setting and 6 weeks in grades 1-3.
Elementary Education: Elementary education candidates require placement for a minimum of 12 weeks in a full-day, multi-subject, elementary classroom that includes at least two core classes such as language arts and math (preferable) or language arts and one other core class such as science or social studies. Some states and districts may require the student to participate at more than one grade level. A kindergarten placement may not satisfy requirements. This placement must take place in a 1-5 grade multi-subject elementary classroom or 6th grade non-departmentalized multi-subject elementary classroom.
Secondary Education: Secondary education candidates require a minimum of 12 weeks full-time at the appropriate grade level and in the content area for which the candidate will be recommended for licensure. The WGU program requirement for secondary education programs require that the placement for demonstration teaching is in the secondary or high school setting. Some states and districts may require the candidate to participate at more than one grade level and in more than one content area.
Special Education: Special education placements are a minimum of 16 weeks in length with 8 weeks in a standard 1-5 grade multi-subject elementary classroom or 6th grade non-departmentalized multi-subject elementary classroom (see elementary education requirements above) with at least one IEP student and hosted by a regular elementary educator and 8 weeks in a secondary special education setting with a secondary special education educator who teaches core classes in a mild/moderate setting (English, math, science, social studies).
Missouri Only: Missouri requires that at least one placement is a minimum of 12 weeks long. The standard 16 week placement is adjusted for Missouri students only to 12 weeks in a secondary special education setting with a secondary special education educator who teaches core classes in a mild/moderate setting, followed by 4 weeks in a standard 1-5 grade multi-subject elementary classroom or 6th grade non-departmentalized multi-subject elementary classroom.
It is important to understand that a district or school is not required to accept or retain any teacher candidate for a DT assignment. Review the sections of this handbook entitled Behaviors that can Result in Termination of Placement and Removal from a Cohort: Administrative Withdrawal. Contact email@example.com for assistance or questions.
Note: Many states have different requirements related to the length or type of placement required. You are strongly encouraged to review to visit your state's folder in the Teacher Licensure Home Page in the student handbook to become familiar with your state's requirements.