Alaska Teacher Certification Application Information and Instructions
Note: To be eligible for recommendation by the Certification Office, students completing a bachelor's degree, a post baccalaureate certification or a Master of Special Education degree must graduate and have their degree posted to their WGU transcript. Students who are completing a Master of Arts in Teaching program must have marks of "passed” on their Degree Plan for all teacher preparation assessments to include any program required Praxis exams as well as all state required exams.
Alaska accepts direct applications for teacher certification from those who graduate from an out-of-state, approved teacher preparation program like those offered by WGU. Follow the steps below to prepare your application for Alaska Licensure. You may also access http://www.eed.state.ak.us/TeacherCertification/ to review this information.
Step 1: Request official transcripts in sealed envelopes from every college you have attended. Two copies of your final WGU transcript will be sent to you along with your diploma upon graduation. If you would like to order additional transcripts, see WGU Transcript Request, Official WGU. Do not request a transcript until you have received notice of graduation, so that your graduation date will appear on your transcript. Master of Arts in Teaching students may request a transcript after completing the teacher preparation portion of their Masters program. Be sure to leave your transcripts in the sealed envelopes to be included with your application packet.
Step 2: If your Praxis score reports were not mailed directly from ETS to the AK Teacher Certification office, then you will need to request that ETS send an additional score report to the state office. You may do this by calling 1-800-772-9476 or by submitting the Additional Score Report Request Form to ETS via fax or mail.
Step 3: If you completed the fingerprinting process for the Alaska Department of Education to obtain your Alaska Student Teacher Authorization, and apply for your certificate within 60 days of finishing demonstration teaching, then you do not need complete the process again. If it has been more than 60 days since you finished demonstration teaching, obtain FBI fingerprint cards from your local law enforcement office. You may also order them from the Alaska Department of Education by calling (907) 465-2831 or send an email to email@example.com, specifying your name and mailing address. Complete the fingerprinting at a local police station and be sure that you complete all sections of the cards.
Step 4: ALASKA'S MANDATORY TRAININGS: To qualify for an Alaska certificate issued on or after June 30, 2017, you must first complete four mandatory trainings:
Step 5: Download and complete the Two- & Three-Year Teacher Certification application.
Step 6: Download the Teacher Education & Certification State-Approved Program Verification Form and fill out the Applicant Information section at the top of pages 1 and 2. Email both pages of the form to the WGU Certification Officer at the contact information below.
The Certification Officer will fill out the form and return it to you in a sealed envelope for inclusion in your application packet. WGU must have copies of all exam scores on file before completing the recommendation.
Step 7: Compile your application packet:
1. Completed application form (including notarization).
2. Fingerprint cards (if applicable).
3. Official transcripts.
4. Evidence of the completion of the four mandatory trainings.
5. Basic Competency Exam and Content Area Exam Scores (if the haven't yet been submitted to the Teacher Education & Certification Office).
6. Sealed Institutional Recommendation form.
7. Fee, paid via credit card or by a cashier's check or money order made payable to the DEED. No personal checks are accepted.
Step 8: Send your complete application packet to:
Department of Education and Early Development
Teacher Education and Certification
801 West 10th Street, Suite 200
PO Box 110500
Juneau, AK 99811-0500
Alaska requires two, three-credit courses for extension of the initial two year certification or qualification for the initial three year certification: Alaska Studies and Multicultural Studies/Cross-Cultural Communication. These requirements must be met at an Alaska institution with in the first two years that you hold your initial certification in order for you to be eligible for standard certification. For more information on courses approved by the Alaska Department of Education to fulfill this requirement, click here and here.