MN Certification Requirements and Available Licenses

Minnesota Certification Requirements and Licenses Available

Minnesota does not offer a middle school math or a middle school science initial license. Middle school math and middle school science endorsements can only be added to a current elementary or secondary license.  Additionally, WGU's Educational Leadership programs do not lead to licensure in Minnesota.


Early Childhood Education: Birth to 3rd Grade

Elementary Education K-6

Elementary Education Grades K-6 and Special Education: Academic and Behavioral Strategist Birth-12

Chemistry, Grades 9-12

Secondary Communication Arts and Literature, Grades 9-12

Earth and Space Science, Grades 9-12

Secondary English as a Second Language 9-12

Life Science, Grades 9-12

Mathematics Grades 5-12

Physics, Grades 9-12

Social Studies Grades 5-12

Communication Arts and Literature 5-12

Special Education: Academic and Behavioral Strategist Birth-12

Minnesota has the following general requirements for all applicants for initial teacher certification who have completed an out-of-state teacher preparation program:

1. DEGREE REQUIREMENTS:  Possession of a Bachelor's degree from a regionally accredited college or university.

2. PROGRAM REQUIREMENTS:  Completion of a regionally-accredited teacher education program that is similar in content and scope to a Minnesota teacher education program and which leads to teacher certification in the home state of the preparing institution. The teacher candidate must receive a recommendation for certification from the teacher education program s/he completed.

3. BACKGROUND CLEARANCE/FINGERPRINT CARD:   To request a fingerprint card, email or call 651-539-4200 (option 1) and include your full name and mailing address in your message.  If you use a fingerprint card from a local police station, make sure it has the sky blue border.  Please see fingerprint information available at this site:

4. BASIC SKILLS:  Passing scores on the required basic skills test.

5. CONTENT AND PEDAGOGY EXAMS:  Passing scores on all of the required content and pedagogy exams. (IMPORTANT: As of September 1, 2010, Minnesota will no longer allow Praxis exams to be taken for certification but will instead require their own exams, the Minnesota Teacher Licensure Examinations [MTLE].)

6. DEMONSTRATION TEACHING:  Minnesota students in a WGU 5-12 program must do a split placement in the middle level, grades 5 through 8, and high school level, grades 9 through 12.

7. TEACHING PERFORMANCE ASSESSMENT: Completion of the Minnesota Teaching Performance Assessment requirement.

Further details on Minnesota teacher certification requirements are available on the MN Department of Education website. 






Article Number : 19759, 1790

Version history
Revision #:
14 of 14
Last update:
‎07-09-2018 03:14 PM
Updated by:
Labels (1)