ND Educational Leadership Certification Requirements

North Dakota Educational Leadership Certification Requirements

Educational Leadership Certifications Available: Elementary Principal, Secondary Principal

North Dakota has the following requirements for applicants for level 1 certification as elementary or secondary school principals:
1. TEACHER CERTIFICATION: For certification as an elementary school principal, the applicant must hold a valid ND teaching license allowing them to teach at the elementary level.  For certification as a secondary school principal, the applicant must hold a valid ND teaching license allowing them to teach at the secondary level.


2. EXPERIENCE: At least three years of teaching and/or administrative experience in an elementary or secondary school setting, as appropriate to the level of school principal certification sought.

3. DEGREE: A master’s degree in educational administration from a state-approved program. 

4. WGU PROGRAM REQUIREMENT:  Beginning 9/1/2018, the WGU program requirement is the Praxis 5412: Educational Leadership: Administration and Supervision for students in North Dakota. If passed prior to 8/31/2018, the Praxis 5411: Educational Leadership: Administration and Supervision satisfies the WGU Program Requirement.

For further details on North Dakota school principal certification requirements, please see the EPSB Administrative Rules for Elementary Principal and Secondary Principal certification.    


WGU requires Educational Leadership candidates to complete a practicum in accordance with the hour requirements listed here.

Visit these links for more important information:
General Information About Licensing in North Dakota
Registering for Praxis Exams
Submit your exam scores to WGU and the Utah State Office of Education
ND Administrator Certification Application Information and Instructions


Article Number : 19985, 1854
Version history
Revision #:
7 of 7
Last update:
‎09-06-2018 10:31 AM
Updated by:
Labels (1)