SD BA Special Education/ Elementary Education Certification and Exam Requirements

Elementary and Special Education Certifications Available: Self Contained K-4th Grade AND Self Contained Fifth - Eighth Grade AND K-12 Special Education


Required Elementary Content Exam (Choose one):

  • Praxis 5001, Elementary Education: Multiple Subjects
  • Praxis 7801, Elementary Education: Content Knowledge for Teaching
  • Praxis 5018, Elementary Education, Content Knowledge (see note below)
  • Praxis 5014, Elementary Education: Content (if passed by 8/31/15. See note below)

    Note: Beginning July/August 2018 (exact date TBD), the Praxis 5018 and 5014 exams will no longer qualify for certification. Therefore, it is recommended that you complete either the Praxis 5001 or Praxis 7801 exam, unless you have already passed the Praxis 5018 or 5014 exam and will apply for your teaching license before July 2018.

Required Special Education Content Exam:


WGU Program Requirement Exam (for students who matriculated on 9/1/11 or after):


Required Pedagogy Exam:

Visit these links for more important information:

General Information About Licensing in South Dakota
Registering for Praxis Exams
Submitting Exam Scores to WGU

Applying for your South Dakota Teaching License



Article Number : 20157, 2181

Version history
Revision #:
7 of 7
Last update:
‎01-18-2019 11:52 AM
Updated by:
Labels (1)