TN Middle Grades Mathematics Certification and Exam Requirements

Middle Grades Mathematics Certification Available: Middle Grades Mathematics, 6-8

Required Content and WGU Program Requirement Exam:

Note: Applicants must have passed the required exams within five years prior to the date they apply for licensure.


  1. Praxis 5169, Middle School Mathematics
    Note: The Praxis 0069, Middle School Mathematics exam, which also satisfies the WGU program requirement, does not satisfy TN middle grades license requirements.

Required Pedagogy Exams:

  1. Praxis 5203, Teaching Reading: Elementary
    (OR, if passed by 8/31/13, and you apply for licensure by 8/31/2018, Praxis 5201, Reading Across the Curriculum: Elementary)
  2. Praxis 5623, Principles of Learning and Teaching 5-9
    Note: Effective 10/1/2016, If you completed edTPA during the demonstration teaching portion of your WGU teacher preparation program, then you do not need to pass Praxis 5623, Principles of Learning and Teaching 5-9. If you did not complete edTPA, then you will need to pass Praxis 5623 to be eligible for licensure recommendation in Tennessee.


Visit these links for more important information:

General Information About Licensing in Tennessee
Registering for Praxis Exams
Submitting Exam Scores to WGU
Applying for your Tennessee Teaching License

Tennessee Teaching Performance Assessment





Article Number: 20176, 2854

Version history
Revision #:
14 of 14
Last update:
‎03-05-2018 03:09 PM
Updated by:
Labels (1)
Tags (1)