TN Middle Grades Science Certification and Exam Requirement

Middle Grades Science Certification Available: Middle School Science, 6-8

Required Content and WGU Program Requirement Exam:

(Please Note: Applicants must have passed the required exams within five years prior to the date they apply for licensure.)


  1. Praxis 5440, Middle School Science
    Note: The Praxis 5439, Middle School Science exam, which also satisfies the WGU program requirement, does not satisfy TN middle grades license requirements


Required Pedagogy Exams:


  1. Praxis 5203, Teaching Reading: Elementary
    (OR, if passed by 8/31/13 and you apply for licensure by 8/31/2018, Praxis 5201, Reading Across the Curriculum: Elementary)
  2. Praxis 5623, Principles of Learning and Teaching 5-9*
    *Note: Effective 10/1/2016, If you completed edTPA during the demonstration teaching portion of your WGU teacher preparation program, then you do not need to pass Praxis 5623, Principles of Learning and Teaching 5-9. If you did not complete edTPA, then you will need to pass Praxis 5623 to be eligible for licensure recommendation in Tennessee.


Visit these links for more important information:

General Information About Licensing in Tennessee
Registering for Praxis Exams
Submitting Exam Scores to WGU
Applying for your Tennessee Teaching License

Tennessee Teaching Performance Assessment


Article Number : 20185, 2855

Version history
Revision #:
8 of 8
Last update:
‎02-12-2018 11:39 AM
Updated by:
Labels (1)
No ratings