TN Secondary Mathematics Certification and Exam Requirements

Secondary Mathematics Certification Available: Mathematics 6-12. 

Important Note Regarding Field Experiences and Licensure

Content and WGU Program Requirement Exam:


Note: Applicants must have passed the required exams within five years prior to the date they apply for licensure.


Praxis 5161, Mathematics: Content Knowledge
Tennessee will accept the Praxis 5061 in place of the Praxis 5161 only if the 5061 was passed by 8/31/13 and you apply for licensure by 8/31/18.

Pedagogy Exam: 


Praxis 5624, Principles of Learning and Teaching 7-12


Note: Effective 10/1/2016, if you completed edTPA during the demonstration teaching portion of your WGU teacher preparation program, then you do not need to pass Praxis 5624, Principles of Learning and Teaching 7-12. If you did not complete edTPA, then you must pass Praxis 5624 to be eligible for licensure recommendation in Tennessee.


Visit these links for more important information:

General Information About Licensing in Tennessee
Registering for Praxis Exams
Submitting Exam Scores to WGU
Applying for your Tennessee Teaching License

Tennessee Teaching Performance Assessment



Article Number: 20181, 2313

Version history
Revision #:
13 of 13
Last update:
‎12-07-2018 01:32 PM
Updated by:
Labels (1)
Tags (1)